Say Yes!

After an 8 month hiatus, I am back to attempting to take time each month to write a blog entry.  There many be an occasional extra, but I want to commit to once a month first, and see where that takes us.  I am saying “yes” to doing this and I want “my yes to be yes and my no to be no.”

James chapter 4 verse 8 says “Say a quiet yes to God, and He will be there in no time.  Quit dabbling in sin.  Purify your inner life.  Quit playing the field.” (MSG)  God is a gentleman. He does not require a lot of fanfare.  He does not need my money.  He doesn’t even need my intellect.  He just wants me.  He would like me to surrender.

He would like me to think of Him when I first wake up in the morning.  He would like me to say yes to getting up and spending time with him as opposed to sleeping in.  He would like me to say yes to straightening the kitchen before I leave, even though I didn’t make the mess the night before.  He would like me to say yes to leaving my daughters a note telling them how proud I am of them, even though I could use that extra time at the office before the day gets busy.  He would like me to say yes to paying for the person behind me in line at Chick Fil A in order to make their day a little brighter.  He would like me to say yes to helping the woman with knee braces down the steps at my daughter’s volleyball game. And the list of opportunities to say yes could go on.  God is working all around me all the time, and the Holy Spirit is prompting all the time.  I have a choice.  Say yes.  Or say no.

I have learned, I think, that saying yes to the small promptings of the Holy Spirit, assists me in saying yes to the BIG promptings that can only be done through the Holy Spirit.  Read that statement again.  I had to.  I believe God uses the Holy Spirit, and our ability to say yes in simple doable things, to build our confidence, so that when it comes to saying yes to something beyond our ability, something seemingly not doable, if you will, we can still say yes.

Just following the “rules” and “doing what we are supposed to” is not the same as saying yes.  The rich young ruler found that out.  In Mark 10, he came to Jesus asking what he needed to do to inherit eternal life.  Jesus talked him through all the commandments (rules), to which the rich guy felt like he had said yes to for most of his life.  But when it came to saying yes to, or surrendering what he really had been saying yes to (his wealth), he was unable to do it.  There is no faking it with God.  That is why James said in the verse I started with, “Quit dabbling….stop playing the field.”  We want a controlled surrender.  A giving up of the things I don’t mind giving up.  God needs all of us.  “Don’t worship any other god, because I, the Lord, the Jealous One, am a jealous God.” (Exodus 34:14)

Saying yes takes practice.  Start today by saying yes to those small inner promptings that don’t have a lot to do with keeping you happy and comfortable, but rather, seem others centered.  I think you will find that in doing so, God will grow you to a point where you will begin to say yes to things that require radical obedience and supernatural ability.

Until next time…..

o-say-yes-facebook

Image taken from Hufingtonpost.com

Leave a Reply

